Skip to product information
1 of 2

Quirk Books

Hollow City: The Second Novel of Miss Peregrine's Peculiar Children

Hollow City: The Second Novel of Miss Peregrine's Peculiar Children

Book Details
  • Author: Ransom Riggs
  • Binding: Paperback
  • Publisher: Quirk Books
  • Published: 2015-02-24
  • Edition: Illustrated
Regular price $14.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $14.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Condition
"I was blown away... HOllow City is fantastic."- USAToday.Com "A worthy follow-up, and as addictive a read as the first."- Hypable " Hollow City mixes spooky vintage photos and action-packed storytelling to continue the story of Jacob Portman and his fellow "peculiars" as they travel through time to war-torn London."-Dan Kois, Slate "A perfect blend of creepiness and thoughtfulness."- PopMatters "A stunning achievement... HOllow City is even richer than Riggs's imaginative debut, Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children. "- Boston Globe "What makes the series soar, however, is not the world-building, as intriguing as it is, but the heartfelt intensity of the emotions."- Virginian-Pilot "Ideal for fans of Neil Gaiman and Daniel Kraus, Hollow City blends fantasy and horror into a world that will engross readers and leave them eager for more."- Shelf Awareness for Readers "A tasty adventure for any reader with an appetite for the...Peculiar."- Kirkus Reviews "New readers of the series will find this novel a treat...FAns of the first title will find this book a treasure. THe only downside: waiting for the third installment to find out what happens to Jacob and his peculiar friends."- School Library Journal "Riggs has created a fresh and original world in these Peregrine novels, with likable, quirky characters and a very readable style."- Library Journal Xpress Review "Fans will be thrilled to know that the sequel to Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children is as hauntingly sinister as the first and is unequivocally worth the wait. IT's a rare sequel that improves on the series' beginning. .. A Must-read!" -RT Book Reviews "A great big jolt of fun."- LitReactor "Fans will be pleased with this second volume and downright delighted to know that a third in the series is in the offering."- Booklist Praise for Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children "A tense, moving, and wondrously strange first novel. THe photographs and text work together brilliantly to create an unforgettable story."-John Green, New York Times best-selling author of Looking for Alaska and Paper Towns "Readers searching for the next Harry Potter may want to visit Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children ."- CNN "Riggs deftly moves between fantasy and reality, prose and photography to create an enchanting and at times positively terrifying story."- Associated Press "I read all of the Miss Peregrine's Peculiar Children books and I loved them."-Florence of Florence + The Machine "[A] thrilling, Tim Burton-esque tale with haunting photographs."- USA Today Pop Candy "With its X-Men: First Class -meets-time-travel story line, David Lynchian imagery, and rich, eerie detail, it's no wonder Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children has been snapped up by Twentieth Century Fox. B+"- Entertainment Weekly "Peculiar' doesn't even begin to cover it. RIggs' chilling, wondrous novel is already headed to the movies."- People "You'll love it if you want a good thriller for the summer. IT's a mystery, and you'll race to solve it before Jacob figures it out for himself."- Seventeen "This peculiar parable is pure perfection."- Justine magazine "One of the coolest, creepiest YA books."- PopSugar "It's an enjoyable, eccentric read, distinguished by well-developed characters, a believable Welsh setting, and some very creepy monsters."- Publishers Weekly "An original work that defies categorization, this first novel should appeal to readers who like quirky fantasies. RIggs includes many vintage photographs that add a critical touch of the peculiar to his unusual tale."- Library Journal " Miss Peregrine's Home For Peculiar Children is a wonderfully original and inventive book with colorful characters, a mysterious tale woven together with threads of historical relevance, and incorporating unforgettable vintage photographs which bring the story to life."- Geeks of Doom "Brace yourself for the last

The More Than Words double bottom line: Every purchase provides hands on job training opportunities, and all revenue supports our nonprofit to empower youth to take charge of their lives.

Shipping Info

We offer standard and express shipping starting at $5.99. Live local? We offer local pickup on select items at our Boston Store and Mobile Bookstore location.

Returns

We accept returns within 30 days of purchase for a refund. Simply reach out to us if you have any trouble with your order.

Care Instructions

We are here to help with any questions or concerns you may have at any time. Reach out to us and we can't wait to help!

View full details

can't find what you are looking for...

We Can Help